Lil Discourse

Panic! At The Disco frontman Brendon Urie talked to PopBuzz for their weekly podcast and revealed that the band is already hard at work on new music, even with his opening for Kinky Boots on Broadway just around the corner and the Death Of A Bachelor Tour barely over.

“So I’ve got probably ten more demos that I’ve just been hanging on to. Nothing full again, probably just minute and a half ideas. But exciting stuff, stuff I didn’t expect to have written. So it’s really just bizarre…yeah I guess bizarre is probably the best way to describe it. It’s kind of out there…It’s more like broken down in terms of production. It’s more relying on vocal, where the vocals as a background will build a chord and carry a song instead of a lot of instruments carrying. That’s the best way

Whether I’m writing a lyric or making a beat, every day I’m doing something. I never really stopped working, so I’m curious to do the sort of Frankenstein method now and see if I can pull all of these things to kind of jigsaw puzzle this [next] album,” Urie says. “I’m just going to keep writing until that happens—it seems like it’s going really well right now. There’s a few ideas I’m really excited to keep working on.”

Brendon also talks in-depth about his role in Kinky Boots and how it came about, discussing his Broadway dream.

Brendon discussed the phone call he received from Fall Out Boys Pete Wentz asking him to dress up in the costume seen the “Young And Menace” music video and eat some cereal. “I didn’t get any explanation it was literally just ‘Hey man I’m sending our buddy Jade over to film you’, I was like okay,  I had no idea what it was going to be and I’d just see the video like a day before” (16:08 in podcast)

He also dodged questions of whether he would be appearing on Fall Out Boys upcoming album M A N I A.

“I’m not divulging, I’m not divulging any information, I may or may not, it’s up in the air right now.” Brendon said when asked about the possibility “It’s not a hard no.”

Urie also talks about possible collaborations with Halsey and some of his life inspirations for the duration of the podcast.

Listen to the full podcast here

 

 

 

